Master Copy: Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night”

In my Digital Illustration class we were learning how to use brushes using the Bevel & Emboss tool in Photoshop. So, as an assignment, we where supposed to replicate a painting done with oil paint.

I’ve always liked Vincent van Gogh’s “The Starry Night” because of many different things: the textures, so many brush strokes and the colors. For some reason I thought it wasn’t going to take me too long because all I had to do was tons of brush strokes in the sky… 7 hours later I finished the first layer.

I showed it to my teacher and he told me it was looking good, however I was missing the textures, he helped me to exaggerate the depth of the embossing on each brush stroke, and then I just had to do it all over again. Ugh! The good thing is that it took me around 4 hours to do all the changes that the teacher wanted me to do.

Here is the original:

starry-night-original

 

And this one is my version:

master-copy-starry-night-small-file-final

When I put them both together and showed it to the class on the proyector, the teacher stayed quiet for a while and I said, “Are you going to say something?” Because I was nervous of what he was going to say, but then he said that he is just looking at it and he told me a million times that it looks really good and that it is great, which made me feel really good. 🙂 Also, one of the students asked which one was the original, and that also made me happy. It has been a good day so far!

Here is a picture of both the original and my copy side by side (mine is on the left):

copy-and-original

 

Leave a Reply

