He told me he’s gonna break me

For my last class assignment I had to do a master copy, which basically means to copy an artist work with learning purposes and obviously giving credit to the artist to not get in trouble (Copyright issues).ย I’m not going to post here the image of my master copy because like I said, I don’t want to mistakenly get in trouble with the artist and blah, blah, blah…

Anyways, today’s class went on an interesting direction. My teacher saw my finished assignment and he started saying things like “beautiful lines”, “great job”, “very well done Sammy”… But after a few minutes, things changed.

He was looking at someone else’s artwork and liked the artist that the student chose to copy, and told me “You should look him up, Sammy” … Then immediately said “I’m gonna break you Sammy” while he laugh at loud, and he did thisย in front of all the class!

I didn’t know what to do or say so I just smiled. I kept thinking about it during the rest of the class time. I even wrote my mom to tell her what happened because for some reason, I felt terrified of what he told me. I told her that I really wanted to talk to him after class and ask him what he meant by that, although I was hesitating about doing it because he tends to make things very public. Let me give you an example, the other day I asked him quietly if I could go to the bathroom, and he answered very loudly, “Yeah Sammy, the syllabus doesn’t say that you need to ask me for permission to go to the bathroom, but yeah, you can go.” And obviously all the class found out why I had to leave the classroom.

At the end of the class, I decided I was going to talk to him. I stood up and went right to were he was and casually asked him “do you really want to destroy me?” He smiled and told me he is not going to do that and that he only wants me to grow more as an artist and push me to do better. I said, “One of these days you’re going to make me cry… you always pick on me…” and he laughed and said, “You don’t cry, you never cry. Other students have cried in the past, but you’ve never done it.” (I was like, What??!! you’ve made others cry?!), but of course I didn’t say it at loud. At the end I told him that yeah, if I’m having a bad day I will cry, and not only that but I will start bawling. He immediately said “Well, you need to warn me on those days, it would be very sad to see you crying…” (At least now I feel that he cares enough that he doesn’t want to see me crying).

The weirdest thing about this story is that, I really like this teacher! And even though he drives me nuts sometimes, I really like him because even if I don’t like to admit it, he sees my potential and he always tries to push me to do better. So, I decided to keep liking him…

I didn’t mention it before but even though he is so pushy (specially with me), it feels great when he does say that he loves what I did. He starts telling me every positive part of my work and it just feels awesome! Let see how the rest of the semester goes…

 

UPDATE***: I talked with my teacher again about how I felt when he told me that he was going to break me and he clearly said to me, “I will push you, not break you, just push you to be your best.” I feel better now, and I know deep down inside he likes me as a student. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

