Starting my little business

It’s been 8 months since I decided to open my own Etsy shop… The truth is that I got very disappointed with myself for not being able to sell anything in my shop. I left Etsy behind for months and forgot about it.

A couple days ago, I had a conversation with my husband about what I’m going to do once I graduate. I was kinda freaking out  about it and somehow the topic about Etsy came out.

Noah told me that to have a successful business I have to keep putting effort into it. I told him that no one even sees my Etsy page, until we starting checking the stats on it and realize that I have around 50 views in the last week. I decided to renew my listings and start using it again.

Part of this new start was to try something new. I posted about a couple’s portrait that I can sell for Valentine’s Day. I shared the link with a few Facebook groups and pages and I saw that the views in my page started going up. Like A LOT. I have around 250 views in two days. And a lot of people have contacted me interested in more details. So far I have only one person I’m working with and I was disappointed about that too. Felt that my art wasn’t good enough for people to want to spend money on it…

However, I realized something. It is good to start with a few clients, because it would be very stressful to have tons of paintings to do in the next three weeks before Valentine’s Day! I have school and a part time job, cooking, cleaning the house, washing laundry, etc. And that takes most of my time. I don’t know how other people do it, seriously!

Anyways, I hope I can be constant with this, I know I should give up. I know that the more times I fail, the closer I am to success. I just need to keep trying.

These are examples of the portraits I told you about, and I think it is a fair price compared to others that are way more expensive! I really enjoy working with textures and everytime I learn more and more. Here is a link to my Etsy shop as well:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/490226942/valentines-day-gift-custom-couple?ref=shop_home_feat_4

the-heil-familygallardos-small-file

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

