Abstract Painting

I did this painting in October-November for a class… And I want to tell you the story behind it… (See below)

abstract 2.jpg

I was having problems with a really bad anxiety throughout the semester, it was pretty tough to go to class and do the assignments at the moment. For this class, I was supposed to do a analogous painting. (For the ones who don’t know what that is, it is two use two or three color that are together in the color wheel). In this case I used red, orange and yellow. color-wheel.png

I wanted to do an illustration but it was very difficult for me to do a sketch or even think about doing one because of the condition I was in emotionally, so I decided to do an oil painting.

The day I decided to work on it, I wasn’t feeling well, so my husband took me to work with him and put me in a little room where I wouldn’t bother anyone. I took my canvas, paint and my easel. (A lot of paper towels as well because I always make a mess with oil paint).

I told myself “Just put paint on the canvas, don’t plan ahead, just paint”. I started using a dark red and making lines all around the canvas. Then I used a bright red, then orange, and yellow at last.

I really didn’t know what I was doing until I started putting the yellow on the canvas. I said to my self “this is going to represent the light coming from the sky in the middle of the darkness”. So that’s what I did.

When I finally finished, I felt so much better, my anxiety got better.

It took forever to the painting to get dry. I’m talking about maybe two months!

Now, I put the painting in my living room… Last week  my husband, Noah told me “Do you see the man in the painting?” I and was like “What?!” And he said “Yeah! the man that you painted with the yellow squares”. It took me a while, but I finally saw it:

man-in-abstract

Noah’s words after we both saw the man were “See? You are showing through your painting what your feelings are! There is a figure pleading to God for help! See what you can do? You are an artist, and you don’t even know how good you are.”

I just wanted to tell this story because I thought is was an interesting one. Sometimes our minds are sending signals or what our feelings and heart is telling us, and we need to be perceptive and realize that.

Leave a Reply

