Internship ~ Day 9

I sent Rebecca all the illustrations I have done and corrected so far and she likes all of them. She just moved to a different house this week so she didn’t have internet access to check out my work during the past couple days.

Today I worked in two illustrations, they took me less time than the others because they were a little bit simpler and that’s the reason why I did two instead of just one.

The first illustration was an octopus. I tried to use the same colors as the original drawing, however I didn’t want the illustration to look the same as the cover one. I changed the characteristics of the octopus so that it looks different than the other one:

hannah6.jpg

Page 5

For the second illustration I had to draw a whale. While I was drawing it, I felt that I wanted the illustration to look different than other images of whales that I’ve seen online but I didn’t know how to make it look different. I tried to think outside of the box and do something a little bit more creative than just a whale. I decided I was going to do two whales, a momma whale and her baby whale.

When I first painted them, I made them looking at the same direction like if they were just swimming together, but the more I saw it, the less I liked it. Both whales were blue at the time. Then another idea came to my head, what if I did the two whales distinct from each other and specify that the mom is a female animal and make the baby whale do something else than just swimming with his mom?

There is where the idea came to my head. I wanted to keep the illustration as similar as possible as the original drawing, however on this one, it was going to look more interesting if I changed the idea a little bit. I hope that the illustration is okay for Rebecca. I made it in a way that it would be easy to just replace it with only one whale as the original drawing.

Here is my illustration:

hannah7Page 6

Leave a Reply

